Built at the end of the 15th century, the Grand Priory of the Order of Malta owes its destiny to Jacques Réattu (1760-1833), a painter from Arles and winner of the Grand Prix de Rome. The building became a museum in 1868 and preserves all his work and his personal collection.
Open to photography since the 1960s (4000 works today), enriched by exceptional donations (Picasso, with 57 drawings and two paintings, Alechinsky…), very sensitive to sculpture (Germaine Richier, Toni Grand…), the museum created in 2008 a listening room dedicated to sound art. The museum is a real meeting place, commissioning artists and mixing disciplines, and hosts thematic exhibitions and new displays to discover art in a different way.
Throughout the year, the Musée Réattu also offers guided tours and workshops for all: adults, families, children and groups in connection with its exhibitions.